22nd annual All-Washington Academic Team ceremony coming to SPSCC

Monday, March 13, 2017
Event Date/Time: 
March 23, 2017 - 12:00pm

South Puget Sound Community College will host the 22nd annual All-Washington Academic Team ceremony on Thursday, March 23, 2017.  The top students from each of Washington State’s 34 community and technical colleges will be honored in this annual recognition ceremony.  The keynote will feature a message from Marty Brown, Executive Director of the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.

Gov. Jay Inslee presents keynote at 2016 ceremonyThe All-Washington Academic Team program recognizes and honors our state's finest higher education students. The 63 students who make up this year’s All-Washington Team reflect the diversity of the state, maintain high standards of excellence, and contribute positively to the community.

To qualify for the All-Washington Academic Team, students must be part of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges.  Phi Theta Kappa has recognized and encouraged scholarships among two-year college students for more than 90 years by providing stimulation and enrichment while promoting academic integrity of the associate degree program.

Each student being honored this year will receive a Phi Theta Kappa medallion and a $250 scholarship from KeyBank. The top-qualifying students will also receive additional scholarships from Washington State Employees Credit Union (WSECU) and the Washington State Association of College Trustees.

Additionally, those students who choose to attend Washington State four-year colleges and universities are eligible to receive additional scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $12,000 for their achievements at the community college level.

Medallions from 2016 All-Washington Ceremony