Local automotive instructor receives national award

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Article via ASE
Cheryl Harrison

Leesburg, VA, November 28, 2017– Norman Chapman, an automotive instructor and ASE Certified automobile technician from Centralia, Washington, was recently honored with a national achievement award as the Byrl Shoemaker/ASE Education Foundation Instructor of the Year. Forty-seven automotive professionals were recognized on November 15, 2017, at the Fall Board of Governors meeting of the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) held at the Marriott Mission Valley in San Diego, California.

The ASE annual awards spotlight top scorers on the ASE Certification Tests from among the ranks of the more than a quarter million ASE certified professionals nationwide. Trish Serratore, President of the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation and Automotive Youth Educational Systems; Jeff Walker, Chairman of the ASE Board of Directors; and Timothy Zilke, ASE President & CEO, presented the award to Chapman.

“Norm is one of the outstanding ASE certified professionals recognized annually by different segments of the automotive service and repair industry. Each of these elite technicians is presented with an industry-specific award recognizing their achievement,” said Zilke.

Chapman is a professor of automotive technology at South Puget Sound Community College in Olympia. He has worked in the field for 44 years and earned his first ASE certification in 1973. “ASE has been honoring outstanding automotive professionals in our industry for more than 40 years, and we are proud to once again recognize forty-seven outstanding individuals from across the nation,” said Zilke. “This is all made possible by the support of our many award sponsors. This award is given in memory of Byrl Shoemaker, a champion of automotive education. We are proud to recognize Norm's commitment to excellence in providing the very best in automotive technology education to his students. This dedication is reflected in the talented professionals we recognize each year and Norm represents the best of the best.”

Thirty-six different companies from both OEM and Aftermarket segments sponsored the individual technician recognition awards in the Auto, Truck, Collision and Parts categories, along with awards for instructors. In addition to looking for top scores on ASE tests, award sponsors examine on-the-job excellence, community service and other factors when selecting honorees.

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) was founded in 1972 as a non-profit, independent organization dedicated to improving the quality of automotive service and repair through voluntary testing and certification of automotive professionals.  More than a quarter million ASE certified automobile, truck, and collision repair technicians, and parts specialists work in dealerships, independent shops, service stations, auto parts stores, fleets, schools, and colleges across the nation.  For more information about ASE, visit the Web site at www.ase.com.

Left to right: Jeff Walker, Trish Serratore, Norman Chapman, Tim Zilke
(L to R) Jeff Walker, Trish Serratore, Norman Chapman, Tim Zilke