Meet SPSCC’s 2022 All-Washington Scholars

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

South Puget Sound Community College (SPSCC) today announced its two students being recognized as members of the All-Washington (All-WA) Academic Team: Dianna Burch and Yuho Fujii. The ceremony will honor students from each of the state’s 34 community and technical colleges. It will be hosted virtually on SPSCC’s YouTube channel and the college's All-WA webpage on May 12, 2022, at 12:00 p.m. Dianna and Yuho will be presented with their awards at the Board of Trustees meeting on May 10 before the ceremony.

Dianna is always looking for opportunities to become more involved in the community by connecting with others and sharing experiences. She is passionate about helping others and leading by example. Her career goal is to work for the state or to become a director of a program focused on teaching and caring for children. In the future, Dianna plans on transferring to a four-year university to pursue a degree in education.

After attending a lecture on racial and gender discrimination, global warming, immigration, and poverty hosted by UCLA, Yuho was inspired to study International Relations to deepen her understanding of how to resolve world issues. Yuho works as a peer mentor at SPSCC’s International Student Services and is dedicated to supporting students as they adapt to their new environment. Her career goal is to support refugees and immigrants by working for a non-governmental organization.

Scholarship Sponsors

Each All-Washington Academic Team member will receive a Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) medallion and a $250 scholarship from KeyBank. The top 16 students, as ranked by PTK, will receive an additional $750 from Washington State Employees Credit Union (WSECU) and the top three will receive an additional $1,000 from the Washington State Association of College Trustees.

Additionally, students who choose to attend Washington State 4-year colleges and universities are eligible to receive additional scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $12,000.

This year, the Washington Association of Community and Technical Colleges (WACTC) has added a new $2,500 scholarship entitled the Jan Yoshiwara All-WA Scholar Award in honor of retiring Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) executive director Jan Yoshiwara which will be awarded to the top student.

About the All-Washington Academic Team and Phi Theta Kappa

The All-Washington Academic Team program recognizes and honors our state's finest higher education students. The students who make up the All-Washington Team reflect the diversity of the state, maintain high standards of excellence, and contribute positively to the community. Their stories are often inspiring, sometimes surprising, and always reflective of the larger story of the state's community and technical college students.

To qualify for the All-Washington Academic Team, students must be part of the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society for two-year colleges. Phi Theta Kappa has recognized and encouraged scholarships among two-year college students for more than 90 years by providing stimulation and enrichment while promoting the academic integrity of the associate degree program. All-Washington Academic Team members will also be ranked at a national level, with a chance to be included in the All-USA Academic Team.

Photo of SPSCC's All-WA scholars Yuho Fujii and Dianna Burch