Event News

SPSCC Hosts 2024 All-Washington Academic Team Ceremony

By Alexis Calma

March 22, 2024

South Puget Sound Community College (SPSCC) invites the State of Washington to celebrate this year’s top community and technical college students. The 28th annual All-Washington (All-WA) Academic Team Ceremony will honor 92 students from the state’s 34 community and technical colleges, all of whom are part of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. The ceremony will be held on April 25 in Building 1 at SPSCC’s Lacey Campus and the event livestream will begin at 12:30 p.m. on the SPSCC YouTube channel.

The All-WA Academic Team program recognizes and honors our state's finest higher education students: the individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to success in the classroom and in the communities in which they live. Their stories are often inspiring, sometimes surprising, and always reflective of the larger story of the state's community and technical college students.

At the ceremony, this year’s team of 92 students will receive a KeyBank scholarship and All-WA recognition. Other special scholarships awarded at the ceremony include the WSECU Top 16, the Association of College Trustees scholarships, the New Century Transfer and Workforce scholarships, the Coca-Cola Academic Team scholarship, and more.

SPSCC extends its gratitude to Phi Theta Kappa, KeyBank, WSECU, the Washington State Association of College Trustees, the Washington Association of Community and Technical Colleges, and the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges for their longtime support and sponsorship of this program.

In his proclamation, Governor Jay Inslee invites everyone in our state to observe April 25, 2024, as All-Washington Academic Team Day. Join in the celebration by using #AllWA2024.

Top 16 Students

Congratulations to this year’s top 16 students, recipients of the WSECU Top 16 scholarship.

Maya Hankins, Centralia College
Amanda Salsbury, Columbia Basin College
Dariga Rakhat, Edmonds College
Claire Payne, Everett Community College
Emily Fry, Grays Harbor College
Angie Milena Lemos Garrido, Green River College
Evelyn Flores, Olympic College
Erdenetuya Batgerel, Seattle Central College
Isabella Briones, Shoreline Community College
Joshua Fox, Shoreline Community College
Richard Beckman, South Puget Sound Community College
Owen Heit, South Seattle College
Quynh Nguyen, South Seattle College
Hsu Wai Hnin Kyaw, Spokane Falls Community College
Ma. Paula Amores, Tacoma Community College
Kyle Bailey, Walla Walla Community College